Circular EconomyFP7

Eurotapes: P. Van Tendeloo receives Dr. De Leeuw-Damry-Bourlart Award by King Philippe of Belgium

Dr. De Leeuw-Damry-Bourlart 2015The Board of Directors of FWO (Fonds Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek – Vlaanderen) has announced the five laureates of the FWO Excellence Awards. Every 5 years, an international jury awards five leading scientisist for their research career. The awards are considered the “Flemish Nobel prizes”.


The prestigious FWO Excellence Awards are granted in the five main science areas. Researchers cannot apply as candidates themselves, but have to be nominated by colleagues. An independent jury of international top scientists investigates the nominations and selects one laureate per scientific field.


The Prizes were awarded by King Philippe of Belgium on the 30th of Novembre 2015.


This year, the laureates are:

  • Prof. Gustaaf Van Tendeloo (University of Antwerp): Laureate of the Excellence Award Dr. De Leeuw-Damry-Bourlart 2015 in Exact Sciences
  • Prof. Luc Van Gool (KU Leuven): Laureate of the Excellence Award Dr. De Leeuw-Damry-Bourlart 2015 in Applied Sciences
  • Prof. Peter Vandenabeele (UGent): Laureate for the Excellence Award Joseph Maisin 2015 in Fundamental Biomedical Sciences
  • Prof. Greet Van den Berghe (KU Leuven): Laureate for the Excellence Award Joseph Maisin 2015 in Clinical Biomedical Sciences
  • Prof. Marc Leman (UGent): Laureate of the Excellence Award Ernest John Solvay 2015 in Language, Cultural and Societal Sciences


About FWO:

The “Fonds Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek-Vlaanderen (FWO)” stimulates development of new groundbreaking knowledge in all scientific disciplines. The FWO finances excellent researchers (2950 researchers in 2014) and research projects (1400 projects in 2014). The FWO receives financial support mainly from the Flemish Government, but also partly from Federal Government, European institues and a score of companies and institutions.


More about the FWO EXcellence Awards can be found here (link is external)and here (link is external). (In Dutch)


Link to SIM research: the research group of Prof. Van Tendeloo at University of Antwerp (link is external) (who received the FWO Excellence Award in Exact Sciences), EMAT (link is external) which is short for Electron Microscopy for Materials Science, is highly involved in a number of SIM research programs, including Nanoforce, SOPPOM, HINTS and TRAP.


Gustaaf Van Tendeloo (University of Antwerp)Prof. Gustaaf Van Tendeloo was then interviewed in front of a large audience why after 30 years of High-temperature superconductivity, more research still needs to be done and how Europtapes greatly contributes to the development of excellent scientific results.